Law Offices
of Ed Laughlin

Click to Call Find us on Facebook Find us on Twitter Send us an Email Listen on the Radio

DWI/DUI

Have you or has a family member been arrested for DWI? Are you worried about losing your driving privileges, losing your job, spending time in jail, and paying heavy fines? If so, the Law Offices of Ed Laughlin can offer you the representation you need during this stressful time. We educate clients about their options to enable them to make decisions about how to proceed. If you or a family member has been arrested for drunk driving, then you need attorney Ed Laughlin for experienced DWI defense. Please contact our firm to arrange your free consultation with a DWI lawyer.

Our DWI lawyers strive to find the best possible outcomes for our clients. We may be able to obtain sentencing alternatives such as probation and alcohol treatment programs. In some circumstances, we can reinstate driving privileges so clients can get to and from work.

As a former assistant district attorney for Van Zant County, Ed Laughlin is often able to give clients an honest assessment about their case. His experience provides him with the knowledge needed to anticipate and respond to the prosecution's moves. Attorney Ed Laughlin thoroughly analyzes the evidence, including the videotape of the stop, and discusses his findings with his clients. He offers complete information to his clients, and discusses the advisability of accepting offers or pushing forward with a trial. Each client and each situation is unique, and our firm encourages clients to do what is fitting for their unique situation.

DWI LAW

The Legal Limit. The legal limit for intoxication in Texas is 0.08 blood alcohol concentration (BAC). However, drivers can be stopped and cited for impaired driving due to alcohol or other drugs regardless of BAC. Texas also has a zero tolerance law. For anyone under 21, it is illegal to drive with any detectable amount of alcohol.

How Much is Too Much? Impairment begins with the first drink. Gender, body weight, the number of drinks consumed and the amount of food in one's stomach affect the body's ability to handle alcohol. Women, younger people and smaller people, whether male or female, often have lower tolerances.

What Happens If You're Stopped. If a law enforcement officer asks you to take a blood or breath test to measure how much alcohol is in your system, you should comply. If you refuse, you are subject to an automatic 180-day driver's license suspension.

PUNISHMENT

Punishment for DWI varies depending on the number of times you've been convicted.

First Offense:

  • up to a $2,000 fine
  • 72 hours to 180 days in jail
  • Drivers License suspension: 90 days to 1 year

Second Offense:

  • up to a $4,000 fine
  • 30 days to 1 year in jail
  • Drivers License suspension: 180 days to 2 years

Third Offense:

  • up to a $10,000 fine
  • 2 to 10 years in penitentiary
  • Drivers License suspension: 180 days to 2 years
MINORS

If you're under 21, here's what happens the first time you are found in possession of alcohol. Any amount of beer, wine or liquor will trigger the penalties.

  • 30-day Drivers License suspension
  • up to a $500 fine
  • 8 to 12 hours of community service
  • mandatory attendance in alcohol-awareness classes

A second or third offense can lead to suspension of your Drivers License for 90 to 180 days. If you're 17 or older, you also can be fined as much as $2,000 and go to jail for up to 180 days for a third offense.

If you're under 21, here's what happens the first time you are stopped for drinking and driving.

  • 60-day Drivers License suspension
  • up to a $500 fine
  • 20 to 40 hours of community service
  • mandatory attendance in alcohol-awareness classes

Get caught drinking and driving a second or third time, and the penalties increase, including suspension of your drivers license for up to 180 days. That's called zero tolerance. It means 'zero' alcohol. And that's the law in Texas.

If you're 17 and over, here's what happens if you're stopped for drinking and driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 or greater. Some people, particularly teenagers, can reach a 0.08 BAC with two or three beers an hour.

  • up to a $2,000 fine
  • 72 hours to 180 days in jail
  • Drivers License suspension of 90 days to one year

<< Back to Practice Areas

SOCIAL MEDIA

FIND US

Temple Office (Principal)
1509 W. Avenue J
Temple, TX 76502
254-773-8399

Killeen Office
1101 E. Central Texas Expressway
Killeen, TX 76541
254-699-2460

Waco Office
427 N. 38th St.
Waco, TX 76710
254-714-2500